Outstanding Young San Antonian

Brandon Brandon 2 Brandon 3 Brandon 4 Brandon 5 Program - Brandon Logan

Past Recipients


2016 Outstanding Young San Antonian

A millennial and native San Antonian that found inspiration at the nexus of business, community, and mentorship, Brandon A. Logan has carved a niche for himself as an entrepreneur, advocate, and speaker on all things diversity, business, and service. As a progressive public servant, Brandon’s leadership efforts, have been recognized by President Barack H. Obama, McDonald’s, United States Marine Corps, Rotary International, Essence Magazine, Upscale Magazine, San Antonio Business Journal, SA2020, Covington Who’s Who Registry, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., United Way, and the San Antonio Magazine.

As President of SRG Athletics, Brandon is responsible for the company’s strategy management, operational production and expansion initiatives. Brandon had a desire to make a greater contribution into the lives of youth, specifically young people of color; so in 2013, he created and co-founded SRG Force Sports, a registered 501(c)3 non-profit established to narrow the opportunity and achievement gap between children in low-income communities and their affluent counterparts through the implementation of high-quality learning based programs that improve their academic & social development by leveraging the sports platform as the attractor.

Brandon has generously and selflessly served the San Antonio community as a member on various boards and/or organizations: the Advisory Board of the Center for Student Professional Development at Grambling State University, Alamo City Black Chamber of Commerce, Harvey E. Najim Family Foundation, San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, SAISD Foundation, Boysville, Inc., Valero Alamo Bowl, Rotary Club of San Antonio, San Antonio Lighthouse for the Blind, Children’s Hospital of San Antonio Foundation, KLRN television station, Student Aid San Antonio, Kingdom For Kids, and United Way’s Emerging Leaders Council.

As the Former Vice-President of the World’s 2nd largest Rotary Club, Brandon was responsible for all community initiatives. Under his leadership, the Rotary Club of San Antonio collected nearly 2,000 books to donate and deliver to every 4th and 5th grade student in need. Also, Brandon led an effort to collect 600 jeans and donated them to a local shelter, Haven For Hope. Furthermore, Brandon organized and led a delegation of 100 Rotarians and guests to participate in a “Day of Service”, designed to allow each participant to shadow a student for the day to learn what it is like to be a student attending a school in the inner city.

Brandon graduated Cum Laude in three years from Grambling State University while dedicating his extracurricular efforts to the football team. Focusing his energy on academics and athletics led Brandon to be named Grambling Football Scholar Athlete of the Year. He was initiated into Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. in 2005 and was later recognized by his fraternity as the Louisiana Scholar of the Year. He is also a Bayou Classic Marines Excellence in Leadership Recipient.

Brandon has devoted and dedicated his life to service, specifically in the areas of youth, education, and the underserved population. For his efforts, Brandon has received several honors and awards: recognized by Essence Magazine as one of the 50 “Baddest Brothers” in America; selected by San Antonio Express-News as one of an elite group of people with the most potential to influence San Antonio and have a huge impact on the Alamo City in 2015; recognized in the VIP section of Covington Who’s Who Registry; and awarded the “Service Above Self” Award from Rotary International for his selfless contributions to his community and beyond, Rotary International’s highest honor for individual Rotarians. He has also been recognized by the San Antonio Business Journal with the 40 under 40 Rising Star Award and is a proud graduate of the Leadership San Antonio Class XXXVI and FBI Citizens Academy Class 17. Most recently Brandon received the highly coveted International Citizen of the Year Award by Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., in addition to being recognized by the Grambling University National Alumni Association with the Distinguished Alumni Award. Appointed by City Council District 2 representative to serve as the Chairman of the San Antonio Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission, Brandon took the MLK March to a new level of participation with a record 300,000 people marching and raising over $400,000 in scholarships.

Brandon is an inspiring and motivating individual, and because of these attributes, he is often asked to speak to youth and young people. Through Brandon’s efforts and volunteerism in 2014, community service organizations received in excess of $350,000, 300 grants, 2,600 tangible goods, and over 1,000 hours of community service.

Mr. Brandon Logan is a model example of how to effectively use a platform of influence to make a difference in the lives of others.

2015        John Marek

2014       Shannon Sedwick Davis

2013       Rev. Gavin Rogers

2012       Jennifer Paquette

2011       Armen Babajanian

2010       Bruce Bowen

2009       Rebecca Brune

2008       Mark Larson

2007       Lanham Napier

2006       Dr. Fernando Lopez

2005       Josh Davis

2004       Leslie Mouton

2003       Tim Duncan

2002       Mark Mays

2001       Mayor Ed Garza

2000       Justice Wallace Jefferson

1999       Pat Frost

1998       David Robinson

1997       Ron Barshop

1996       Lyle Larson

1995       Richard H. Cavender

1994       T.J. Connolly

1993       Robert G. Marbut, Jr.

1992       Richard P. Ojeda

1991       Judge Carleton B. Spears

1990       Judge Bonnie Reed

1989       Karyne Jones Conley

1988       Thomas Yantis

1987       Cyndi Taylor Krier

1986       Dr. Louis Agnese, Jr.

1985       Gilbert F. Vazquez

1984       Roy Barrera, Jr

1983       Paul Rush

1982       Gary Short

1981       James Dublin

1980       Carl D. Newton, III

1979       Frank Tejeda

1978       Dan Loveland

1977       Tom Vickers

1976       W.W. McAlllister, III

1975       Henry G. Cisneros

1974       Bernard M. Brooks, Jr.

1973       Reese L. Harrison

1972       Nelson W. Wolff

1971       Bob Lee

1970       Segal V. Wheatley

1969       Charles S. Nelson

1968       Douglas Mitchell

1967       Boone Powell

1966       James L. Hayne

1965       Lloyd Jary, Jr.

1964       Charles L. Smith

1963       W. Don Tiner

1962       Franklin S. Spears

1961       Tom Frost, Jr.

1960       Jack Pitcluk, Jr.

1959       Porter Loring, Jr.

1958       Jack Cones

1957       John Daniels

1956       Hubert Green, Jr.

1955       Walter Corrigan

1954       Bob Hollingsworth

1953       Bill Southwell

1952       Sam Riklin

1951       Bill Camp

1951       Sam Jarle

1951       Sam Riklin

1951       Phil Willis

1951       Forres E. Wood

1950       William Bellamy

1950       John W. Fielder

1950       Jack C. Hamilton

1950       Paul K. Herder

1950       Henry J. Sebastian

1949       James V. McGoodwin

1948       Tom Slick

1947       Dan Gates

1946       Lou Riklin

1945       Angus Cockrell

1944       Carl Stromberger

1943       Willis Tate

1942       Walter Thomas

1941       Harold Risener

1940       Jake Tiner

1939       Albert Buss

1938       Jesse Fletcher

1937       Theo Weiss

1936       Fred Felty

1935       Joni Jones

1934       Bailey Peyton

1933       Guy Bonham

1932       Arthur Pfeil

1931       Youngs Crook